Doncaster Naturalist’s Society

Recording Doncaster’s wildlife since 1880

The society’s aims are to continue to document, educate and encourage an interest in all aspects of natural history and to promote the conservation of wildlife and the protection of habitats, mainly within the area covered by the Doncaster Metropolitan Borough. Founded in 1880 as the Doncaster Scientific Society, we hold an extensive archive spanning 125 years. A Constitution was agreed in 1991. An Annual General Meeting (AGM) is held in January each year.

Each year, we produce a winter and summer program of activities which are open to all members and casual visitors alike. During the summer, various surveys are carried out with the members, including botanical field meetings, amphibian and bat surveys, with several evenings throughout the year allocated to moth trapping and recording. During the winter months we hold workshops and indoor meetings at Parklands Sports & Social Club, Doncaster DN2 4LT when guest speakers are invited to give talks on various topics. Members and guests are encouraged to contribute articles for publication in the society’s ‘Doncaster Naturalist’.

If you would like to join the society or attend any of our meetings then please contact the general secretary by email at enquiries “at”
Please note that attendance at any meeting as at your own risk and that children under the age of 16 years must be accompanied by a responsible adult.

The society is affiliated to the Yorkshire Naturalists Union and all our records are submitted to the Doncaster Local Records Centre

Membership of the society is £7 per annum

The copyright of all photographs reproduced on this website belongs with the person who has taken the photograph. Anyone wishing to make use of any photograph should contact in the first instance the general secretary for further details.

Officials of the Society for the year 2020

President Nora Boyle
Past President(s) Louise Hill
General Secretary Margaret Prior
Treasurer Nora Boyle
Recorder Louise Hill
Programme Secretary Joyce Simmons
Membership Secretary Nora Boyle
Other Committee Members Derek Allen (minutes secretary)
Maurice Whitta (conservation officer)
Colin Howes
Geoff Carreck
Les Coe (webmaster)
Honorary Life Members Pip Seccombe
Colin Howes

Map Contains OS data © Crown copyright and database right 2020